Year 3 students in Room 20 have been writing narratives and publishing their stories using Book Creator on the class iPads.

Students could choose from a photo prompt as inspiration for their planning and used a story graph to plan their narratives. For many, the most exciting part was publishing their stories using the iPads. On the day of my visit, the classroom was a hive of activity with students typing and selecting images to add to their books. It was wonderful to see so many students immersed in the writing process.

I love thinking about what I’m going to do. I love making my ideas into stories, and using the iPad is much easier. I can organise my story better. – Cian

We get to use the iPads which is fun. I’m writing about a controller that broke. – Praveen

I enjoyed putting pictures in because it gives a lot of detail to the story.  My favourite sentence is the first one because it’s really good. Writing helps me spell correctly and it’s fun. – Oscar

I enjoyed using onomatopoeia because it gives the story a lot of excitement. It’s pretty easy to use book creator because you can type and print it and it turns into a book. – Rocco

I liked using a photo to help me with my writing because it helps me be descriptive. I like writing and using suspense. Solving the problems and feeling like I’m on the adventure is exciting. – Harriet

Generally I love technology so combining it with writing is really exciting. I love reading back my writing as a reader and adding the pictures to bring my writing to life. – Lucy