It was wonderful to see year 2 students engaging in some construction on Tuesday of week 7 as part of their Design and Technology learning. Students researched, designed and built models of a new playground and their final products were wonderful! I thought the most exciting part would have been their research of playgrounds across our school, but from the smiles on their faces, I could see that the construction element of this task was the most enjoyable part. The classroom was a hive of activity as students used a range of resources to complete their designs- and the clean-up was pretty quick too! Well done to Lydia and the students from room 14.

I worked very hard on my design. Being able to build my playground was my favourite part since we get to use our hands a lot. – Kitto

I like design and technology because it’s creative, and I can get wild in my mind. – Ava

I don’t like design and technology because I get stressed in my mind thinking of ideas. –Sean

I like making because you get to make different things. My favourite part was making the sandpit because it’s very squishy. – Max

We’ve been making a treehouse. First we made a design. We had to make a design of what we wanted our playground to look like. Chelsea

We drew what we wanted our playground to look like. I used bottle tops, pipe cleaners, fabric, cotton buds and cellophane. It was fun to build my playground, and I liked working with my friends.- MaisieI made a treehouse, water pit, sand pit and foam pit. My favourite part was the making because making is really fun. – Eddie