16th June

Today, in Room 21, we took time to reflect on and write about what we could see outside the windows of our classroom.

We hope you enjoy our writing.

From the Year 4 students of Room 21.

Adelaide

Through my classroom window, the gnarled tree stands, as still as a statue. Birds chirp cheerfully as though they are practising for a concert. The room disappears, and all that’s left is the soaked tree staring at me. The breeze blows gently, and the branches sway softly. Slowly, one by one, leaves drift down. Huddled leaves, drenched trunk and rustling make Autumn magical. The leaves continue to follow the wind, as though they are ducklings waddling behind their mother. I beam at them with delight, and somehow they beam back at me.

Harrison

Through my classroom window, smoking fireplaces burn in the winter air, with squadrons of smoke descending from the chimney. Autumn leaves rustle in the trees while cool wind blows through the gloomy sky. The gnarled tree twisting and turning through the breeze like a beanstalk shooting into the clouds. Winter makes me feel like a content penguin huddling with its friends.

Angus

The window’s fully open and I glance at the mossy tree, as still as a statue. I listen to the silver rain drops going drip, drop on the window’s glass. In nearby homes, I imagine a cozy fireplace and warm meals that make my tastebuds dance and the smell of it makes my mouth water with delight. As my hand is resting on the cold window pane, a shiver runs down my spine. It’s winter.

Mia

Through my classroom window, the old mossy tree stands crooked, sturdy and gnarled, beckoning me to climb it. The birds chirp happily like at the start of spring. The soft breeze sways the lower branches, forwards and backwards, like a pendulum on a clock. Hot chocolate bubbles in the kettle waiting to be sipped. Smoke coming from chimneys slowly drifts like snow that took a wrong turn and landed in the sky. I hope that winter will soon end, like time stopped, and summer will wake up in its place. 

Illy

What a wonderful world.

Through the open window, the glistening raindrops slide slowly down the metal roof, leaving a remarkable pattern like a shooting star in the galaxy. The drifting scent of hot cocoa flows through the window with a trail of deliciousness following. The ascending tree’s branches fan upwards like a peacock awakening its beautiful feathers. The branches twist through the bright winter’s sky like a kite being pushed by the empowered breeze.

Clovis

Through my classroom window, twigs fall off the gnarled tree, leaves sway by the icy cold breeze and leaves fall on the rock hard ground. Listening to the birds chirp a happy little song, watching raindrops shimmering on the metallic hood of a little home. Clouds capture the sky like moss covering the fresh air. The leaves create a pile like a bee getting pollen for honey. The wind blows away all the leaves to another destination. All of this makes Autumn feel special.

Ryder 

Looking through the window, the birds chirp away like waves crashing at the beach. The glossy silver roof shimmers as bright as a huge glistening full moon. I imagine cuddling the covers on my bed, watching snow angels fly around while warm milo thaws my hands.

Henry 

I see through my classroom window. Moss on the magnificent Autumn trees. I see homes, trees, leaves, soaked and chimneys with hot beautiful smoke coming out. I hear birds chirping. I see birds flying around having an exciting time. I see clouds covering the hot golden sun. Light cracks through the clouds. I thought I was just dreaming and I have never experienced this. I feel surprised and peaceful.