During the holidays, against the backdrop of the Unley Soldiers’ Memorial Gardens, students from Unley Primary School joined members of our local community to participate in the Anzac Day dawn service.

Representing our school, students laid a wreath created by Liyana and observed a minute of silence. Zara was invited to read an opening message to begin the service, providing a summary of the significance of Anzac Day.

Owen, Zara and Liyana left the service with a commitment to continue to honour the memory of those Australians who have served their country. The students share their reflections here.

Liyana

On the day when I was called to make a wreath for ANZAC Day, I was greatly honoured and proud as I could contribute to the event and pay my respects to the ANZACS who fought bravely for people’s freedom. I put in my best care and effort in making each red poppy, making sure it was perfect and nicely displayed on the wreath. ANZAC Day is a day where we remember the soldiers who died in honour so that we can live freely today. And because of that, I pay my greatest respects to every ANZAC soul that was sacrificed during the war.

Owen

Being at the Dawn Service provided me an opportunity to think about the sacrifices of all the brave soldiers who have fought for our country. It was heart-warming to see so many people come and show their respects. Last year, I was lucky enough to go to the Dawn Service in Queenstown, New Zealand. Both country’s citizens do an amazing job of remembering what our soldiers have done to provide us with safety and freedom.

Zara

I was asked to be involved in the Unley ANZAC Day service. Amy was very supportive and helped me with rehearsing my lines. I was a part of the introduction to the service and spoke about the importance of remembering those who served Australia and New Zealand in WW1. I talked about the allies and staunch friends and families who supported the young soldiers. It was an eye-opening experience, and I would like to thank everyone who supported me.